Living in a book

Today, for the first time in a long time, I went to a bookstore and got me some books. Since I moved to Oklahoma City I was dying to go to a bookstore, but never actually had the chance. So, after breakfast, I begged my dad to take me book-shopping, and he couldn’t reject his favorite daughter, he took me there 🙂 .

They say “never judge a book by its cover” but somehow, unintentionally it is what happens with most of us. We go to a bookstore and search for a book, whichever catches our attention the first/most, we approach for it. It was what happened with me too. I didn’t have a book list to search exactly for a book, I was only searching for a book that I could enjoy.

And there it was, an average-sized book that has a drawing of a turquoise dress with a pink girlish hanger and white background, named: “Bitter is the New Black” I couldn’t differentiate if I totally fell in love with the cover or the title or description.

IMG_7982

I had to have it. It had to be mine!

I got the book, and some other couple of books 😀 and went home. I was staring at the book and the book was staring back. I just grabbed it, poured myself a cup of red berry tea, and went out to the balcony.  The weather was nice, little windy. I opened up the book and started reading…

I can’t describe how madly I am compelled with the plot and characters and vocabulary and the vibes the book gives me. I think it is quite weird of me saying I feel familiar with the main character, since she is being described as a condescending, egomaniacal, self-centered, smart-ass. Well, some people call me those but that’s not my point. My point is at some point we feel alike with a character in a book, either in sharing conditions, or thinking the same. Don’t deny, it happens. IMG_7994

I like this feeling, because every book I read becomes my escape from this world and entrance to another. Each book adds another life. You are not ONLY you but Holly Golightly, Atticus Finch, Lolita, Dorian Gray, Hazel Grace Lancaster and so on. In a way, you get experience, you get different perspectives… In a way, you see how different cultures survive through life… In a way, you are not old you anymore but a whole new person…

 

Thank you for reading ❤

Please subscribe for more.

I MIGHT WRITE A REVIEW AFTER I FINISH READING.

yours truly,

fullsizerender

 

One thought on “Living in a book

Leave a Reply

